Working with Video in PowerPoint – Part One

While taking a course by Daniel Brigham called Articulate Storyline Advanced Techniques, among all sorts of useful Storyline tips, I actually learned something about PowerPoint. Did you know that you can import multiple videos into a PowerPoint slide, and  that you can export a PowerPoint slide or presentation as a video?

Well, I sure didn’t. So, with this new revelation about what I considered to be an
old-fashioned tool, I was able to create some pretty cool video images that I later imported into some other video editing software. The possibilities of what you could do with this are too numerous to mention here, so I will just focus on a few things I did, and show you how I did them.

As great as Storyline and even some of the video editing software out there is, there are still some animations and other things you can do in PowerPoint that you can’t in those other programs. For instance, I wanted to use a picture I had taken of a beautiful ceiling I saw while on vacation, crop it into a circular shape, and make it slowly spin.

Click to see video of spinning ceiling

Click to see video of spinning ceiling

After cropping the picture into a circle, I used the Spin animation, set the timing to 20 seconds so it would spin nice & slow, and set the animation to start With Previous. I removed all the text boxes from the master slide and gave it a black background. Lastly, I clicked File/Save As, and saved it as a WMV (Windows Media Video) file.

I then imported it into a video I was working on for my band. I made it semi-transparent and put it on top of another live music video as an abstract visual effect.

Click to watch music video with spinning ceiling effect

Click to watch music video with spinning ceiling effect

In my next blog, I’ll show you another awesome thing I was able to do using multiple videos in PowerPoint. Until then, feel free to comment with any questions you may have.

2 thoughts on “Working with Video in PowerPoint – Part One

Leave a Reply

